Skip to main content

Indian River Research and Education Center

Indian River Research and Education Center

IRREC Directory

Faculty


Administration


Dr. Ronald Cave

Dr. Ronald D. Cave (2002)
Professor and Center Director
Biological Control of Invasive Insects
Room #217
772-577-7378
rdcave@ufl.edu

Dr. Zhenli He

Dr. Zhenli He (2004)
Professor and Associate Center Director
Soil Quality and Nanotechnology
Room #317
772-577-7353
zhe@ufl.edu


Faculty


Dr. Mark Ritenour

Dr. Mark Ritenour (1998)
Professor
Postharvest Physiology and Management
Room #323
772-577-7359
ritenour@ufl.edu

Dr. Alan Wright

Dr. Alan Wright (2015)
Professor
Plant Nutrition and Wetland Water Quality
Room #321
(772) 577-7410
alwr@ufl.edu

Dr. Cortney Ohs

Dr. Cortney Ohs (2005)
Associate Professor
Aquaculture
Room #307
772-577-7348
cohs@ufl.edu

Dr. Liliana Cano

Dr. Liliana Cano (2016)
Assistant Professor
Plant Pathology Genomics and Bioinformatics
Room #309
772-577-7350
lmcano@ufl.edu

Dr. Carey Minteer

Dr. Carey Minteer (2016)
Assistant Professor
Biological Control of Invasive Plants
Room #104 | NCHBCRCL
772-577-7379
c.minteerkillian@ufl.edu

Dr. Lisa Krimsky

Dr. Lisa Krimsky (2016)
Regional Specialized Agent IV
Water Resources
Room #129
301-351-5747
lkrimsky@ufl.edu 

Dr. Lorenzo Rossi

Dr. Lorenzo Rossi (2018)
Assistant Professor
Root Biology and Rhizosphere Ecology
Room #235
772-577-7341
l.rossi@ufl.edu

Dr. Sandra Guzman

Dr. Sandra Guzmán (2018)
Assistant Professor
Smart Irrigation and Hydrology
Room #227
772-577-7342
sandra.guzmangut@ufl.edu

Ms. Linda Seals

Ms. Linda Seals (2019)
Regional Specialized Agent III
Community Resource Development
Room #137
772-468-3922
lseals@ufl.edu

profile-placeholder

TO BE HIRED 

Assistant Professor
Biological Control of Invasive Insects

profile-placeholder

TO BE HIRED 

Assistant/Associate Professor
Citrus Horticulture

Staff


Staff NamePositionOffice/Laboratory#Office/Phone#Email address
Pasco Avery Biological Scientist III Entomopathogenic Laboratory, Room #203 772-577-7335 pbavery@ufl.edu
Audrey Beany Biological Scientist Aquaculture, Room #306 772-577-7375 ahbeany@ufl.edu
Wayne Brunk Maintenance Specialist Maintenance Facility 772-577-7397 or 772-577-7394 wayneo@ufl.edu
Brian M. Cain Laboratory Technician II He Soil and Water Science Laboratory, Room #314A 772-577-7351 bmcain@ufl.edu
Thomas "Tom" James Citrus Horticulture Laboratory Citrus Horticulture Laboratory, Room #126A  772-468-3922 hjames1@ufl.edu
Clarence King Agricultural Assistant page 772-468-3922 ceking@ufl.edu
Randy Burton Farm Manager page   772-468-3922 rgb@ufl.edu
John Cardoso Graduate Research Assistant He Soil Water Science Laboratory  772-468-3922 j.cardosodesouza@ufl.edu
Kassandra Coulsey OPS Norman C. Hayslip Biological Control Research and Containment Laboratory  772-468-3922 kassandracoulsey@ufl.edu
Beth Curry Research Assistant Norman C. Hayslip Biological Control Research and Containment Laboratory  772-468-3922 jcurry@ufl.edu
Donald Davis Research Assistant Citrus Horticulture Laboratory 772-468-3922 ddavis@ufl.edu
Allyson DiMarco OPS   Norman C. Hayslip Biological Control Research and Containment Laboratory  772-468-3922  
Albert Fleming Custodian page  772-468-3922 aflemmin@ufl.edu
John-Paul Fox OPS Rossi Plant Root Biology Laboratory 772-468-3922 jfox12@ufl.edu
Wayne Hemighaus Maintenance Mechanic Maintenance Barn 772-577-7396 or 772-205-1117 whemighaus@ufl.edu
Cuifeng Hu Biological Scientist Postharvest Laboratory #322 772-577-7358 cuifenghu@ufl.edu
Clarence King Research Assistant Citrus Horticulture Laboratory   772-468-3922 ceking@ufl.edu
Robin Koestoyo Public Relations Specialist II Room #121 772-577-7366 koestoyo@ufl.edu
Youjian Lin Senior Chemist He Soil and Water Science Laboratory  772-577-7349 liny@ufl.edu
John Marcellus Aquaculture Assistant Hatchery Building 772-468-3922 marcellu@ufl.edu
Georgia Martinez Senior Fiscal Assistant Administration, Room #214 772-577-7326 georgiam@ufl.edu
Dhariana Mejia Grants Specialist Administration, Room #210 772-577-7327 dharianamejia@ufl.edu
Laura Muschweck Biological Scientist Rossi Plant Root Biology Laboratory 772-468-3922 muschweckl@ufl.edu
Marvin Newman Computer Support Assistant IT Office, Room #118 772-577-7365 mknewman@ufl.edu
Felix Palencia Biological Scientist Wright Soil and Water Science Laboratory  772-468-3922  
Terri Price OPS Minteer Biocontrol Lab AND Entomopathogenic Lab  772-468-3922 terriprice@ufl.edu
Ronald Scarberry Maintenance Mechanic Maintenance Barn 772-577-7395 or 772-323-8257 rscarberry@ufl.edu
Waqar Shafqta Research Assistant Citrus Horticulture Laboratory  772-468-3922 waqar.shafqat@ufl.edu
Hector Solis Custodian (page) (page) hlsolis@ufl.edu
Maria Solis Fiscal Assistant  Fiscal Office, Room #214 772-577-7325 masolis@ufl.edu
Hernan Soto Agricultural Assistant Citrus Horticulture Laboratory 772-468-3922 hernansoto@ufl.edu
Velma Spencer Administrative Assistant Administration, Room #217 772-577-7324 velmalsp@ufl.edu
Peter Woodward Aquaculture Assistant Hatchery Building 772-468-3922 pwoodward@ufl.edu
Dr. Flavia Tabay Zambon Research Assistant Citrus Horticulture Laboratory 772-468-3922 f.zambon@ufl.edu

Graduate Students


Neus Alcon-Bou

Neus Alcon-Bou
Root biology and rhizosphere ecology

Daniela Cardenás

Daniela Cardenás
Plant pathology

Kelly Carruthers

Kelly Carruthers
Biological control

Jonathan Clavijo

Jonathan Clavijo
Root biology and rhizosphere ecology

Emilie Demard

Emilie Demard
Biological control

Ricardo Lesmes

Ricardo Lesmes-Vesga
Root biology and rhizosphere ecology

Kathryn McCord

Kathryn McCord
Aquaculture

Lukas Hallman

Lukas Hallman
Root biology and rhizosphere ecology

Jaya Nepal

Jaya Nepal
Soil science

Egem Ozbudak
Plant pathology  

Brandon Quinn 
Agricultural engineering

Sara Salgado

Sara Salgado

Biological control

John Santiago

John Santiago
Root biology and rhizosphere ecology

Martín Zapién

Martín Zapién
Citrus horticulture

profile-placeholder

Eduart Murcia
Agricultural engineering

Emeritus Faculty Members


Dr. Calvin E. Arnold
Center Director, Professor
Dates of Service: 1995-2001
(239) 658-3405
cearnold@ufl.edu

Jane Bachelor
Senior Lecturer Emeritus
Dates of Service: 2004-2016
(772) 577-7375
jbach@ufl.edu

Dr. Brian Boman
Professor Emeritus
Dates Service: 1986-2016
(772) 577-7363
bjbo@ufl.edu

Dr. Roy Carriker
Professor Emeritus
Years of Service: 2007-2009
carriker@ufl.edu

Dr. William Overholt
Professor Emeritus
Dates of Service: 2002-2016

Charles A. Powell
Professor Emeritus
Associate Center Director
Dates of Service: 1989-2016
(772) 577-7345
capowell@ufl.edu

Ronald M. Sonoda
Professor Emeritus
Dates of Service: 1969-2007

Dr. Peter J. Stoffella
Professor Emeritus
Center Director: 2007-2016
Dates of Service: 1980-2016
772-519-6453
pjs@ufl.edu

Dr. Peter J. van Blokland
Professor Emeritus
Dates of Service: 2002-2007
772-519-6453

Visiting Scientists and Postdoctorate Researchers


Salman-Alshami

Salman Al-Shami
Entomology Laboratory | Room 237A
772-577-7339
salshami@ufl.edu 

Xiaoping-Xin

Xiaoping Xin
He Soil and Water Sciences Laboratory | Room 211A
772-468-3922
xinxp1024@ufl.edu 

Jiuxu-John-Zhang

Jiuxi Zhang
Ritenour Postharvest Technology Laboratory | Room 134
772-468-3922
jiuxuzhang@ufl.edu

Flavia-Tabay-Zambon

Flavia Tabay Zambon
Citrus Horticulture Laboratory | Room 102
772-468-3922
f.zambon@ufl.edu

Waqar-Shafqat

Waqar Shafqat
Citrus Horticulture Laboratory | Room 102
772-468-3922
waqar.shafqat@ufl.edu 

Guilherme-Locatelli

Guilherme Locatelli
Rossi Plant Root Biology Laboratory | Room 102
772-468-3922
locatellig@ufl.edu